Honeymoon Trip Report: Table-Service Dining

Besides being a married couple and being on our Honeymoon, having the Standard Disney Dining Plan was the biggest difference between our last trip and any other Disney trip either of us have ever been on. Ashley had been once with me before and a couple of times as a kid but didn’t remember a whole lot about eating at Disney. All I remember is eating a lot of quick-service restaurants with some character meals mixed in.

In fact, I had been to Cosmic Ray’s so many times as a child that when Ashley and I went together for the first time and ate there I (and Ashley) was astonished that I remembered almost every word to almost every song Sunny Eclipse sings.

(Video of Sunny singing to come)

Well, this trip we experienced a whole new side of Disney: table-service restaurants.

We knew many months ahead of time that we would have this dining plan. By the time we actually got there I would say we made at least 100 reservations and cancelled over 90 of them: we had a hard time making up our minds. We did a lot of research on The Disney Food Blog and EasyWDW to figure out exactly where we wanted to eat. Since it was our Honeymoon and people were willingly throwing money at us, we could make a reservation at practically anywhere we wanted (except Victoria and Albert’s, let’s be real here). For the first time in my life money really wasn’t an object. Being able to order ANYTHING I wanted on a menu was exceptionally liberating and frightening all at once. At first I HAD to look at the prices because that’s what I was used to but after a few days I was ordering filet mignon and cocktails left and right.

We went to so many nice table-service restaurants that I’m not going to list them here. I know it’s kind of lazy of me but I didn’t take many pictures of our meals and I’m not that great a food reviews anyway. I’m going to stick to the same format as last post and post some pictures that I took of our meals and say something about them in the caption. This should result in a shorter post and less agony on your end.

I may not even write a post about quick-service meals because 1) They are relatively boring and 2) We will be eating at plenty of them next weekend and I can talk about them after. Just know that we went to Flame Tree BBQ and it was amazing, we went to Cosmic Ray’s because we love it and we went to a handful of other places that were, for the most part, yummy.

I didn't feel as out of place as I thought we would here.

I didn’t feel as out of place as I thought we would here.

We got "custom" menus. Even though it's obviously a stamp it was still more than most of the places did sans California Grille.

We got “custom” menus. Even though it’s obviously a stamp it was still more than most of the places did sans California Grille.

A nice mural behind the bar. You can walk right up to the bar (assuming there is space) and order off the same menu.

A nice mural behind the bar. You can walk right up to the bar (assuming there is a spot) and order off the same menu.

Filet mignon and lobster tail. I'd never had lobster tail before this and it was quiet good. The filet left a lot to be desired compared to Le Cellier. For $70+ I was disappointed.

Filet mignon and lobster tail. I’d never had lobster tail before this and it was quiet good. The filet left a lot to be desired compared to Le Cellier. For $70+ I was disappointed.

Our waiter took our picture. The light outside kind of ruined this one. Apparently he is even worse at taking pictures than I am.

Our waiter took our picture. The light outside kind of ruined this one. Apparently he is even worse at taking pictures than I am. He was really nice though!

Ashley's dessert. Pecan-crusted cheesecake I believe. Definitely pecan-crusted. Not sure about the cheesecake part. She said it was the best dessert of the trip.

Ashley’s dessert. Pecan-crusted cheesecake I believe. Definitely pecan-crusted. Not sure about the cheesecake part. She said it was the best dessert of the trip.

My dessert. It was a banana mango fruit tart. It was very fruity. The "crust" was delicious.

My dessert. It was a banana mango fruit tart. It was very fruity. The “crust” was delicious.

I still haven't decided if my favorite meal was Le Cellier or California Grille. The steak at Le Cellier was definitely better but I think the whole experience at California Grille was more grand.

I still haven’t decided if my favorite meal was Le Cellier or California Grille. The steak at Le Cellier was definitely better but I think the whole experience at California Grille was more grand

The inside looks just like a wine cellar. It's dark but definitely not as dark as San Angel Inn. Really lovely.

The inside looks just like a wine cellar. It’s dark but definitely not as dark as San Angel Inn. Really lovely.

It looks disgusting but the cheese soup was stellar. The provided breads dipped in it were outstanding, especially the pretzel bread.

It looks disgusting but the cheese soup was stellar. The provided breads dipped in it were outstanding, especially the pretzel bread.

This was my dessert the second time we went to Le Cellier. I got the fruit tart both times.

This was my dessert the second time we went to Le Cellier. I got the fruit tart both times because it was so good the first time I had to get it again. That, and none of the other desserts piqued my interest too much.

At the lounge in the California Grille waiting for our table.

At the lounge in the California Grille waiting for our table.

Here's the view: it's amazing. You can see the entire Magic Kingdom, all of the resorts and half of Florida from here.

Here’s the view: it’s amazing. You can see the entire Magic Kingdom, some of the resorts and half of Florida from here.

A little more zoomed in. You can still see the cranes for New Fantasyland construction.

A little more zoomed in. You can see the cranes for New Fantasyland construction. It will be open when we go!

The restaurant is very nice. It's closing in a month or so to get renovated. It was a bit '90s contemporary but still fancy. You can't really see the open kitchen in this picture but they have one.

The restaurant is very nice. It’s closing in a month or for renovations. It was a bit ’90s contemporary but still fancy. You can’t really see the open kitchen in this picture but they have one.

Uh, yes. I'll have the TWELVE HUNDRED DOLLAR bottle of wine please.

Uh, yes. I’ll have the TWELVE HUNDRED DOLLAR bottle of wine please.

There was "pixie dust" on our table upon arrival.

There was “pixie dust” on our table upon arrival.

We got a table right by the windows. This was some of our view. Incredible.

We got a table right by the windows. This was some of our view. Incredible.

This is the roof of the Contemporary. Way off in the distance you can see a whole lot of Disney: EPCOT, Hollywood Studios and Downtown Disney.

This is the roof of the Contemporary. Way off in the distance you can see a whole lot of Disney: EPCOT, Hollywood Studios and Downtown Disney.

We got sushi. It was the best sushi either of us had ever had.

We got sushi. It was the best sushi either of us had ever eaten.

Now you see it. Now you don't.

Now you see it. Now you don’t.

The point wasn't to get a picture of the wall but rather to get a picture of Cinderella Castle. Crazy, right?

The point wasn’t to get a picture of the wall but rather to get a picture of Cinderella Castle. Crazy, right?

Ashley's filet mignon. She gobble it up. We counted and she consumed a total of five filet mignons on our Honeymoon. Quite impressive if you ask me.

Ashley’s filet mignon. She gobbled it up. We counted and she consumed a total of five filet mignons on our Honeymoon. Quite impressive if you ask me.

I got the veal. I had always wanted to try it and I wasn't a big fan. There was a LOT of fat in it. I don't think I'd get it again.

I got the veal. I had always wanted to try it and I wasn’t a big fan. There was a LOT of fat in it. I don’t think I’d get it again.

Ashley's dessert. SO FANCY. Gold dust chocolate ribbon thingy.

Ashley’s dessert. SO FANCY. Gold dust chocolate ribbon thingy.

Chocolate four ways for me. They were all delicious.

Chocolate four ways for me. They were all delicious.

Look at that lovely couple! We think the people sitting beside us were going to get engaged that night. We never found out though, we left before they did.

Look at that lovely couple! We think the people sitting beside us were going to get engaged that night. We never found out though; we left before they did.

Well, those are all the pictures I have of table-service restaurants. I have some from Sci-Fi but the quality was even worse than normal because of the terrible lighting in there. Also, our service was bad (think Applebee’s server working at Disney) and the food was meh.

This is the last time you will hear from me for a couple of weeks. The next posts will be about CHRISTMAS though. Joy to the world.

Leave a Reply

